Sunday, September 19, 2010

The New Pilot PodBlog Ep #13 - The World's Greatest Aviation Adventure

Hello Everybody. This episode is my recollections and imperessions of my first trip to Oshkosh.

We spent 3 days at AirVenture, camping at Camp Scholler. I participated in Podapalooza on Friday night along with other aviation podcasters. This trip was very special for me since I was able to share my passion of aviation and my first trip to AirVenture with my sons. This was our first "boys" trip together and what a trip it was.

The one thing that I will take from this trip is how social media is helping to bring people together, especially the aviation community. I met many of my "social media" friends for the first time in person at Oshkosh. We have all become friendly through Twitter, forums and listening to each other's podcasts. Even before I arrived at Oshkosh I already had meetups scheduled with my friends. So instead of not knowing anyone there, I had parties and meetups to go to. This is what our small community is all about. Strangers coming together with a single, common interest and hanging out like we knew each other for years.

You can see my pictures from Oshkosh at

Some housekeeping,

  • The URL for the web site has changed to be less of a mouthful, (removing blogspot from the name). The old URL will still work.
  • I am using new equipment, a Behringer XM8500 microphone and Behringer Xenyx802 mixer. I hope the audio quality has improved. I plan to make some more equipment purchases. Please let me know if you hear any improvements.
  • I also have finally created a logo. Please let me know what you think of it.


Uncontrolled Airspace (
Jeb Burnside @burnsidej
Jack Hodgson @jackhodgson
Dave Higdon (twitterless)

Steve Tupper @StephenForce

Monika Petrillo @Flyabout

Twitter Friends

Pilot Tony from UCAP forums and myTransponder.

Podapalooza Participants

Pilots Journey Podcast ( @pilotsjourney
Stewart Stoll @CFIStew
Stuart Stevenson @PilotStu
Mike Hart @IDMike
Airplane Geeks (  @airplanegeeks
Rob Mark  @JetWhine
Pilotcast ( @pilotcast
Ken Shook  @flyingcheezhead
Tiffany Wolf  @tiffanykwolf
Bill Williams  @billwil
AirPigz (
Martt Clupper @AirPigz
Mile High Flyers (
Nate Duehr @denverpilot
Mike Daniels @Mike_Flys
Elisabeth Daniels @LVMoxieGirl
Doug Hindman, Jr. @dhindmanjr
Special Shoutout to Zyola @Supovadea
Plane Crazy Down Under ( @pcdu (via recording)
Steve Visscher @stevevisscher
Grant McHerron @falcon124

myTransponder Team
Mike Miley @mike_miley
Rod Rakic @rodrakic

Jason Miller @OnTheFlightLine

Special Shoutout to my sons, Robert and Joey.

Thanks for listening.

Blues skies everyone!

You can reach me at
Please send comments and suggestions.

You can follow me on Twitter at
And LIPilot on
Please join the myTransponder group Friends of The New Pilot PodBlog.

The intro and closing song is John Mellencamp's My Aeroplane.

Direct access to the mp3 is here